top of page

Blank Canvas

I have been painting, drawing. writing, photographing and generally creating ! all my life. I often wonder what it would be like if I could do none of these things. I would feel so lost.


Everything I do seems to conjure up an image, it can be anything from a walk in the park or beach to an image or shape that I see in front of me. I actually get a buzz from playing with the idea of what I can create, sometimes it is abstract and more recently I have been looking at hyper realism.


The fact that some artists are creating images that seem better than reality, using different mediums just makes me sit back in total ore of their talent. I once worked with a guy that said "if I wanted a photo I would take a picture, but in the next breath saying he didn't get ABSTRACT", but these artists are using their skills to create something clever and magical that it goes beyond the camera and I will continue to strive to do the same.


I have also been asked when I create an abstract piece, " yes but can you actually paint something real?" to begin with this did actually offend my sensibilities, but the more I thought about it the more I realised that not everyone gets the meaning of being creative and totally immersing yourself in the moment and just enjoying letting your hair down and creating something that has come from the soul. The moment when you look at a blank canvas and just go for it with whatever colour or tools you have to hand, it really can create something magical, and some of these pieces have been my favourite and I have sold them with such pride.


I am a believer that creativity and artistry is for everyone and there is no right and wrong to creating something beautiful. We all can work with a blank canvas and some days they will remain blank but that's Ok too, and you know we face each day as a blank canvas and can write and paint whatever we feel x




bottom of page